What About The Other 364?

by POPSIE 1956

My wife and I may be one of just a handful of couples who do NOT celebrate Valentine’s Day.

No flowers, no candy, no romantic dinner, none of that stuff.

At least NOT on February 14th.

We’ve done this, or rather haven’t done this, pretty much for all of our time together.

It has nothing to do with how we feel about each other.

Instead, we both feel strongly that we don’t need one day to represent our feelings for each other.

To us, February 14th is seen as an obligation, a mandate, a command, call it the 11th Commandment, “Thou shall spend more shekels than thou hast proclaiming thy love for thou mate, but only on the 14th Day of the 2nd Month, screweth the rest of the year.”

Personally, I prefer the “Just Because” gifts; bring home a dozen roses (actually carnations since they are her favorite), or calling to say “We’re going out to dinner.,” or I take care of the house, from cleaning to laundry to ironing etc.

I wanted to add cooking to that, however I’ve been banned from the kitchen based on the condition I leave it in after cooking, even if I clean it up afterwards, trust me on some nights, FEMA needs to be notified.

And to set the record straight, it’s NOT because of money (or a lack of it) that we don’t celebrate.

After all, true love has no cost….

(I’ll give you a moment to stop laughing).

So, if you went all out this year, GREAT for you, I salute you for showing the world how you feel about the love of your life.

We know how we care about the other.

In fact, there’s only one thing that will make this a perfect love story.

Adjoining beds in the nursing home.

And color coordinated oxygen tanks.

