BLACK IS “SUPER” BEAUTIFUL!

by POPSIE 1956

This particular post is for Fan Boys and Fan Girls; Geeks and Geekettes, those who still live in their  parents basement.

It’s about change, and how, no matter how “wrong” it seems to some, is inevitable, and must be accepted.

A word before I begin; this is NOT, I repeat NOT about race.

It’s about change, progress, and having an open mind to things different than what was.

The primary example here is the Comic Book World, but it applies to many aspects of life.

Coming to a movie theater near you this Summer is the latest version of “The Fantastic Four.”

This will be technically the third time the franchise has started.

That is, if you want to count the DREADFUL Roger Corman version that (to my knowledge) was never officially released, cuz it sucked THAT much.

Hollywood tried again in 2005, in my opinion a VERY weak and corny effort, especially considering the Fantastic Four truly STARTED what was (is) known as “The Marvel Age Of Comics,” before Spider Man, The Hulk, Thor etc.

The sequel in 2007 featuring The Silver Surfer was better than the first, but still not a powerhouse as other Marvel films before it (and since).

Some time back, word came out of a reboot of a new FF film; well anything is better than what we’ve seen.

Then the word came out on casting.

A quick summary for those not totally familiar with FF history that started in 1961.

Reed Richards is Mister Fantastic.

Ben Grimm is The Thing.

The brother/sister act of Johnny Storm and Sue Richards Storm are The Human Torch and The Invisible Girl/Woman.
Again, brother and sister.

Here’s a picture of the cast of the new movie; maxresdefault298

As they say on Sesame Street, “One of these things is not like the other.”

To those who have loved and continue to love the Fantastic Four (including myself who had a copy of FANTASTIC FOUR THE VERY FIRST SERIES ISSUE NUMBER ONE UNTIL MY MOTHER THREW OUT MY COMIC BOOK COLLECTION WHEN I WENT TO COLLEGE…thanks Mom), when we (collectively) heard about the casting, or saw this picture, there was a WTF moment, or at the very least, head scratching.

Fan Boys (and I include myself in that mix to a degree) like, by and large, the story line to remain consistent. We want what we loved in a comic book, or TV show, or movie series, or novel series, to stay the same.

We forget that there are always new people joining our club, new writers, new artists, new concepts.

In the minds of many, THIS is the Fantastic Four we know.1541579-fantastic_four_by_terry_dodson

But, as old and set in my ways as I am (and of which I strive daily to change), I was willing to give it a shot.

Saw the first trailer, eh, didn’t knock my socks off.

Saw the second trailer, better, but still didn’t sell me on going to see it in first run, still want to see it, but for now I can wait.

In this second trailer, we see Johnny and Sue Storm’s father, and it’s obvious that Sue is the adopted sibling.

At that point, my common sense kicked in and I said (about the changes) “BFD.”

If I had ANY doubt that The Super Hero Apocalypse was upon us, it was erased when I read an interview in Entertainment Weekly with Michael B. Jordan, who plays Johnny Storm/The Human Torch.

Here’s the first two paragraphs of the piece;

“You’re not supposed to go on the Internet when you’re cast as a superhero. But after taking on Johnny Storm in Fantastic Four—a character originally written with blond hair and blue eyes—I wanted to check the pulse out there. I didn’t want to be ignorant about what people were saying. Turns out this is what they were saying: “A black guy? I don’t like it. They must be doing it because Obama’s president” and “It’s not true to the comic.” Or even, ‘They’ve destroyed it!'”

“It used to bother me, but it doesn’t anymore. I can see everybody’s perspective, and I know I can’t ask the audience to forget 50 years of comic books. But the world is a little more diverse in 2015 than when the Fantastic Four comic first came out in 1961. Plus, if Stan Lee writes an email to my director saying, “You’re good. I’m okay with this,” who am I to go against that?”

And that, True Believers, is all you need to know, if Stan The Man is cool, EVERYONE should be cool.

This is also not the first time there have been…changes…in the Super Hero World.

Who do you know better, this guy?images

Or this guy?UltimateNickFury

Same character, same a** kicker. We were OK then, we should be OK now.

Couple of other examples in the Comic Book World.

Many people are still complaining about Ben Affleck playing Batman in the upcoming movie; he doesn’t fit the part, he’s too old, he sucked as Daredevil, he’s a terrible actor.

Remember this guy? images

Seemed to do a pretty good job. batman-michael-keaton

Remember the last Superman movie where Superman killed Zod? FANS WERE UP IN ARMS!!!! SUPERMAN DOESN’T KILL!!!!!

It was that way since 1938, but IT MADE SENSE this time, Zod was Kryptonian, Superman had no other choice, and it fit with the mood/plot of the film.

And as long as we’re on the Subject of The Big Two, did you forget Superman…died?

Did you forget Batman’s spine was broken?

Same guys are still at it, right?

Off of Comics for a moment…..didn’t Mister Spock die?

Etc, etc, etc.

Personally, I hate the haters that hate for hate’s sake.

How many Trekkers are there THAT CAN’T STAND the new series of films?

Why, because the Original Cast isn’t starring in it?

Hey people, Kirk and Spock live on even though Nimoy has assumed room temperature and the Grim Reaper knocks on The Shat’s door daily.

I got into a discussion with an old friend about the reboot of Hawaii Five 0 and how he says it can’t replace the original.

It’s not, it’s the Next Generation of the show, and judging by ratings, it does quite well too.

To summarize, we all have our favorite forms of entertainment.

We can enjoy how it was in the past, but the past is the past, and we MUST understand and accept with each generation, the way it was is not the way it is, or should be, forever.

Embrace change.

Embrace diversity.

Embrace new ideas.

As difficult as it is, it’s something that I, an AARP card carrying, nearly 60 year old individual try to improve on every day.

I embrace new TV shows.

I embrace new books.

I embrace new movies.

I embrace new comic books.

I embrace most everything new…

Well, except for Justin Bieber, he still blows.

