A Let Down Hulkamaniac

by POPSIE 1956

Despite the title, this really has nothing to do with “Professional Wrestling” as a thing (either Sports OR Entertainment), it has to do with hero worship, and what happens when it’s destroyed.

As of this writing, we all know what Hulk Hogan was heard to say, we all know what Hulk Hogan admitted TO saying, and we all know what has happened to (A) his career, (B) his legacy, and (C) his fans.

Was he the only white man in history to use THAT word, especially in THAT way and THAT tone?

Obviously the answer is no

And I qualify that by saying “white man” since a number of African Americans have been known to use that word, and not always in a negative way…which still does NOT make it right to use, especially in 2015, in my opinion.

So, that said, does it make it OK he said it?

Absolutely not.

Will he be the last “white man” to say THAT word in THAT tone?

We can’t predict history, but if I was a betting man, I’d be making a lot of money betting on no.

Again, I’m qualifying as mentioned above.

Truth be told, but I, as a white man nearing 60, and I’m VERY sorry to say so, HAVE ALSO said that word.

Not that it excuses anything, but I was young, dumb, and extremely insensitive.

Truth also be told, I come from a generation where, not the right words here, but, it was acceptable to say that word, much more so than in 2015…acceptable, but still not right.

That doesn’t excuse that I did it, and that’s a portion of my life is I that I greatly regret.

As I have mentioned before, I am a believer in fate, there’s a purpose to what we do, much of it is preordained.

So, part of my “penance,” if you will, is to cringe in horror when I hear my oldest grandson use that word.

In his case, he is friends with a young man who is African American, and since THAT young man says it, he feels it’s OK for HIM to also say it.

The first time I heard him say it, I nearly had a stroke.

I immediately told him how wrong he was in saying it, WHY he was wrong, and WHY he should NEVER say the word again, no matter what.

I also told his parents that he said it, so they can deal with it.

It may sound like I’m rambling, perhaps I am, but since the news about Hogan came out, I have been sick to my stomach.

If, for nothing else that it was wrong, this son of a bitch is in the public eye, did he NOT know SOMETHING would get out?

And don’t get me started on this “sex tape” bullshit where the words are heard.

This man (rather, this wrestler) was a true hero, the good guy, the Real American.

In the end, it’s all a pack of lies and bullshit.

In the last couple of years, Hogan came back “home” to WWE.

This incident in question happened eight years ago.

CLEARLY, he knew it happened.

For him to think it would never get out in this age of social media is BEYOND foolish.

It was only a matter of time before something leaked.

Yet the hero comes home, and Hulkamania lives again.

By knowing he said it and attempting to keep it quiet, to me, that makes him a coward, and the yellow in the shirt is appropriate for him to wear.

And that says more about the man than the wrestler/hero.

In speaking with a co worker who is also a fan of wrestling the other day, he made an important statement.

Hulk Hogan, the Real American, the manufactured product, will always be a hero.

Terry Bollea, who plays Hulk Hogan, is an embarrassment to humanity.

Compare Hulk Hogan/Terry Bollea to John Cena/John Cena.

John Cena, the wrestler, is ragged on constantly as being limited in skills, being “Super Cena,” always winning.

John Cena, the MAN, has granted nearly 500 wishes for sick Make A Wish kids.

As a father AND grandfather, wrestling skills (or lack thereof) aside, the MAN is just as heroic as the wrestler, if not more so.

For years, I’ve always believed the same of Terry Bollea and Hulk Hogan.

Up until a day or so ago.

I was wrong.

Damn.

