When Opinionated Celebrities Attack!

by POPSIE 1956

mgm-logo-classic-movies-5157478-1024-768

Everyone chill out.

This is not a negative piece on the President Elect.

This is not a negative piece on what happened at the Golden Globes.

If you know me, you know the title of this piece is CLEARLY tongue in cheek.

Everyone cool?

Let’s move on.

We ALL know what happened with Meryl Streep.

We ALL know the reaction from the President Elect.

My take:

EVERYONE, no matter who they are or aren’t, no matter how famous they are or aren’t, no matter how rich they are or aren’t, EVERYONE has the right to express their opinion on the running of this country.

Like the government and wanna say so openly, cool.

Don’t like the government and wanna say so openly, just as cool.

As Americans, we should be ENCOURAGED to speak up and/or speak out.

That said, IN MY OPINION, there should be a proper place, time, venue or occasion for that speaking out to happen.

Before I continue, a clarification.

Politically, I call myself a GDI, or God Damned Independent.

I have NO affiliation of ANY party, and have NEVER registered with anyone.

I love that Streep was as passionate as she was in her speech.

Personally, however, I wish those words, while worth saying, were said elsewhere than the Awards.

While I did not watch the show, had I watched, whether I agreed or disagreed with what she said, I wanted to watch a show about entertainment, fun, creativity.

Because her words were said in that setting, I think that’s why many people have sticks up their asses today.

Thanks to social media (and as we have seen by the President Elect), there are countless places to express an opinion.

Hell, I’m using this blog to express mine.

An individual can take to their Facebook account, personal blogs, web sites, yes, even Twitter, and tell the world what is on your mind.

Remember Letters To The Editor?

Still there.

If one chose to do so, one could attend and speak out at a political rally, discussing pro for one side and/or con for the other.

One could go Old School and stand on a soapbox in the park.

Perhaps no one will listen to you, BUT YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO DO SO.

Again, IN THE PROPER PLACE, TIME AND VENUE.

I don’t want to go to a concert and hear how an artist feels about the political scene.

However, I want that artist to express themselves, but IN THE PROPER PLACE, TIME AND VENUE.

I don’t want to go to a comedy show and hear how a comedian feels about the political scene.

However, I want that comedian to express themselves, but IN THE PROPER PLACE, TIME AND VENUE.

I don’t want to turn on the radio and hear how my favorite wacky crazy nutty DJ feels about the political scene.

However, I want that favorite wacky crazy nutty DJ to express themselves, but IN THE PROPER PLACE, TIME AND VENUE.

Get it?

So thank you Meryl Streep for opening up on how you feel.

I encourage you to continue doing so.

AS EVERY AMERICAN HAS THE RIGHT TO DO SO.

Just do so IN THE PROPER PLACE, TIME AND VENUE.

Finally, if you don’t care what famous people have to say, no one is holding a gun to your head to listen.

And while you have the right to do so, express your opinion any way you choose.

You can even Tweet about it…..as long as you’re not the (nearly next) leader of the free world.

 

 

 

 

