Online Self Expression Without Pissing Off Friends

by POPSIE 1956

13882382_1255081457859588_7864998942154473521_n

When was the last time you blocked someone on Social Media?

When was the last time YOU were blocked on Social Media?

Do you post thoughts on “controversial issues” with no care that there are some/many who disagree?

Do you hold back on posting thoughts on said issues for the same reason?

It’s really been bugging me lately, and I have been trying to find a spot in the middle where most people can just chill on what I think, without causing the next World War.

I don’t want to get detailed about what I am talking about, since even when one says or writes…that name..the shit storm starts, but I am guessing as you’re reading this, and know the current tone of the nation, you understand.

Since I want an open mind of all who read my words, I will not share my specific opinions on the topic at hand in this piece.

But I think I have found a way to get my point over without causing riots in the streets.

I will give you a moment, if you haven’t guessed yet, to think of the unmentioned subject of the discussion.

OK, ready to play?

Going forward, I will simply address said subject of discussion as THE SUBJECT.

Now, while there is a little bit of middle ground, we are vastly divided, either in favor of THE SUBJECT, or opposed to THE SUBJECT.

I am well aware that if I share my opinion, no matter what it is, on THE SUBJECT, while I will get a great number who agree, I will get an equal if not greater number who disagree.

I will admit having strong feelings about THE SUBJECT, and will write about it on Social Media.

And there goes the shit storm.

Because of what is going on regarding THE SUBJECT, anger and hate on both sides take over.

I don’t want to be the cause of anger and hate.

I don’t want to promote anger and hate.

But at times I can’t, and more importantly I won’t keep my mouth shut.

Since people started talking about THE SUBJECT, there seems to be no way of just having an adult conversation.

So what to do? Ignore talking about THE SUBJECT?

Go back to making jokes, and posting pictures of puppies, kittens, the last meal I had, and my grand kids?

In truth, I LOVE doing that, BUT, that is just one side of me.

I do NOT want to incite anger and hate, but from time to time my opinion needs to be shared, in the most non offensive way I can.

So, I turn to my Social Media friends, and let THEM do the posting.

If you are on Social Media, you certainly know what it is to “LIKE” something.

When one of my friends on Social Media posts something about THE SUBJECT that I may agree with, I will “LIKE” it.

When they don’t, I won’t.

To me, that tells the world how I feel without coming out and directly saying it.

My Social Media friends see how I feel, all who share the same feeling share a bond of brotherhood, those opposed, with luck, may not be as angered and/or annoyed.

Perhaps I will see what my Social Media friends have posted, and in addition to hitting the “LIKE” button, I may also “SHARE” that post for more people to see, WITHOUT having to put my words in that share.

When I do things like that, make no mistake, I am NOT being silent when it comes to THE SUBJECT.

It’s like when you gives kids yucky medicine, if they take it direct they will hate it, AND hate you for giving it to them, BUT, if it’s “sugar coated” as it were, they can take their medicine without a strong negative reaction.

Now, before we wrap up, someone may say “Hey, do you NOT have an opinion on THE SUBJECT on your own?”

Why yes, I do, thanks for asking.

The hot button that gets pushed in me EVERY TIME is when the discussion on THE SUBJECT turns to negative opinions on “The Media.”

While I am not directly THAT media, I have been IN The Media for over 40 years, and I am HIGHLY defensive of it.

THAT, I will post my opinion about.

Additionally, since I am a member of The Media, I do want to use some caution when posting.

After all, I truly DO want to remain “fair and balanced.”

And I have bills to pay.

So, dear friends, I continue to make an effort to “clean it up” in my Social Media feeds.

But if you don’t see rants from me all the time about THE SUBJECT, don’t be of the false impression I don’t care.

Because, I know one day, today, tomorrow, in four years or eight, THE SUBJECT will be closed.

153681841

And THAT will make America great again!

 

